Resources

Directory of MAM Museum Resource People

MAM has assembled a list of people within the state that are willing to provide a specific training or service for a MAM member museum. Most on the list can provide the services free of charge with travel expenses paid for by the museum but some may require a fee.  MAM members and other museums should feel free to contact the individuals below. If you have any questions or would like to be added to the resource list, please contact Deb Mitchell, MAM Coordinator, (406) 444-4789.

Archives

Henry Armstrong, Old Fort Benton, Box 262 Fort Benton, MT 59442, 622-5316

Peggy Gow, Museum Technician, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, peggy_gow@nps.gov

Assessment and Accreditation

Kirby Lambert, Outreach & Interpretation Director, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, 444-4741, klambert@mt.gov

Susan Near, Special Projects Manager, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, 444-4713, snear@mt.gov

Robert Brown, Executive Director, Historical Museum at Fort Missoula, Bldg. #322 Fort Missoula, rmbrown@montana.com

Building Restoration

David Beaver, Exhibit Specialist-Preservation, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x236, david_beaver@nps.gov

Curatorial

Michael Fox, Curator of History, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy Blvd, Bozeman, MT 59717-2730, (406) 994-6578, mfox@montana.edu

Jennifer Bottomly-O’Looney, Curator of Art, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4719,  jbottomly-o’looney@mt.gov

Conservators

Teresa A. Knutson, Rocky Mountain Textile Conservation, 635 6th Street W #4, Kalispell, MT 59901, (406) 756-1388, tknutson@aboutmontana.net

Docent and Volunteer Programs

Katie White, Volunteer Coordinator, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-9553, kwhite@mt.gov

Julie Croglio, Park Ranger, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x226, julie_croglio@nps.gov

Deb Mitchell, Program Specialist, Montana Historical Society, PO box 201201, Helena, MT, 59620-1201, (406) 444-4789, dmitchell@mt.gov

Ken Soderberg, Interperative Services Specialist, Montana State Parks,1420 E. 6th Street, (406) 444-3750, ksoderberg@mt.gov

Education

Julie Croglio, Park Ranger, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x226, julie_croglio@nps.gov

Kirby Lambert, Outreach & Interpretation Director, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4741, klambert@mt.gov

Deb Mitchell, Program Specialist, Montana Historical Society, PO box 201201, Helena, MT, 59620-1201, (406) 444-4789, dmitchell@mt.gov

Ken Soderberg, Interperative Services Specialist, Montana State Parks, 1420 E. 6th Street, (406) 444-3750, ksoderberg@mt.gov

Exhibit Design and Installation

Roberta Jones-Wallace, Exhibit Designer, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4713, rjoneswallace@mt.us

Kirby Lambert,  Outreach and Interpretation Director, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4741, klambert@mt.gov

Pat Roath, Registrar & Collections Manager, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy Blvd., Bozeman, MT 59717-2730; (406) 994-5285, proath@montana.edu (exhibit of historic costume)

Penny Redli, Museum of the Beartooths, PO Box 1, Columbus, MT, 59019, (406) 322-4588, predli@museumofthebeartooths.com

Teresa A. Knutson, Rocky Mountain Textile Conservation, 635 6th Street W #4, Kalispell, MT 59901, (406) 756-1388, tknutson@aboutmontana.net (textiles and costumes)

Fossil Preparation

Micheal Holland, Preparator, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy Blvd, Bozeman, MT 59717-2730, (406) 994-3170, mholland@montana.edu

Fundraising

Susan Near, Special Projects Manager, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, 444-4713, snear@mt.gov

Candace Carr Strauss, Develoment Director, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy, Bozeman, MT,59717, (406)994-4973, candace.strauss@montana.edu

Moving Collections

Chris Ford, Curator, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, chris_ford@nps.gov

Janet Sperry, Retired Registrar, available through MT Committee for the Humanities Speakers Bureau, 1823 Highland, Helena, MT 59601, (406) 443-2749

Object Handling and Basic Preservation

Jennifer Bottomly-O’Looney, Curator of Art, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4719, jbottomly-o’looney@mt.gov

Chris Ford, Curator, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, chris_ford@nps.gov

Peggy Gow, Museum Technician, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, peggy_gow@nps.gov

Amanda Streeter Trum, Collections Manager, Montana Historical Society, 225 N. Roberts, Helena, MT (406) 444-4719, ATrum@mt.gov

Pat Roath, Registrar & Collections Manager, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy Blvd., Bozeman, MT 59717-2730; (406) 994-5285, proath@montana.edu (all objects; also specialist in historic costume and textiles)

Teresa A. Knutson, Rocky Mountain Textile Conservation, 635 6th Street W #4, Kalispell, MT 59901, (406) 756-1388, tknutson@aboutmontana.net (textiles and costumes)

Oral Histories

Kevin Kooistra, Director, Western Heritage Center, 144 Avenue B, Billings, MT 59101, kevinkm@ywhc.org

Rich Aarstad, Research Historian, Montana Historical Society,  PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-6779, raarstad@mt.gov

Pest Management

Vic Reiman, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-0609, vreiman@mt.gov

Chris Ford, Curator, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, chris_ford@nps.gov

Planning and Policy

Chris Ford, Curator, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, chris_ford@nps.gov

Kirby Lambert,  Outreach and Interpretation Director, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4741, klambert@mt.gov

Pat Roath, Registrar & Collections Manager, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy Blvd., Bozeman, MT 59717-2730; (406) 994-5285, proath@montana.edu

Candace Carr Strauss, Develoment Director, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy, Bozeman, MT (406) 994-4973, candace.strauss@montana.edu

Benjamin Clark, Executive Director, Mondak Heritage Center, 120 3rd Ave. SE, Sidney, MT 59270, (406) 433-3500, bclark@richland.org

Record Keeping

Jennifer Bottomly-O’Looney, Curator of Art, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4719, jbottomly-o’looney@mt.gov

Chris Ford, Curator, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x242, chris_ford@nps.gov

Peggy Gow, Museum Technician, Grant-Kohrs Ranch NHS, 266 Warren Lane, Deer Lodge, MT 59722, (406) 846-2070 x243, peggy_gov@nps.gov

Susan Near, Director of Museum Services, Montana Historical Society, PO Box 201201, Helena, MT 59620-1201, (406) 444-4713, snear@mt.gov

Pat Roath, Registrar & Collections Manager, Museum of the Rockies, 600 W. Kagy Blvd., Bozeman, MT 59717-2730; (406) 994-5285, proath@montana.edu

Janet Sperry, Retired Registrar, Available through MT Committee for the Humanities Speakers Bureau, 1823 Highland, Helena, MT 59601, (406) 443-2749

Security

Jerry McGee, Chief of Security at MHS, PO Box 201201, Helena, Montana, 59620-1201, (406) 444-4693 jmcgee@mt.gov

Social Media

Benjamin L. Clark, Executive Director, Mondak Heritage Center, 120 3rd Avenue SE, Sidney, MT 59270,  bclark@richland.org

Close
loading...