Award and Scholarship Info


For excellence and distinction in fostering
the collection, preservation and interpretation
of our heritage and culture,
and for outstanding contributions toward
the advancement of Montana’s museums.

The Peter Yegen Jr. Award was first conferred in 1987 to Peter and Zellah Yegen for their years of service to the museum system of Yellowstone County, their interest in heritage and history, and their contributions to the Museums Association of Montana as founding and long-term members.  This is the only award given for work in Montana’s museums.

Nominees will show exceptional dedication, commitment, leadership, and/or service within the museum community of Montana.  This might include work in funding, publications, establishment of professional standards, working with volunteers, preservation of sites or objects, service on committees, advocacy, or many other areas.  Nominators are asked to provide information that will be evaluated by the MAM Board of Directors.  The award is conferred at the annual MAM meeting.

If you know of an individual or institution that you feel meets these criteria and would like to nominate them for the esteemed Peter Yegen Jr. Award, please fill out the following nomination application:

Peter Yegen Jr Award Nomination Application

MAM Annual Conference Scholarship

The Museums Association of Montana will award up to five conference scholarships per year. Scholarship recipients will be chosen by a two to three-person Scholarship Committee, consisting of current MAM Board members and may include the MAM Executive Director. Each award will consist of one waived registration fee and one waived workshop fee. Travel or other expenses will not be covered by the scholarship award.

Scholarship recipients must be individual or institutional members of MAM. Recipients are required to attend the entire conference and must write a short summary of the conference or of a single session, which may be published in the MAM newsletter.

To apply for the MAM Annual Conference Scholarship, click here for Annual Conference Scholarship Form 2017